European Chess Design Competition – Round 2 Entries

Vote now!


Ancient China [Julien Dellapuppa]
You have the power of the wall. The Great Wall keeps enemies out – and your own soldiers in.
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You have a wall partially enclosing your 3x5 starting area. This wall may not be cross, however, jumping pieces (i.e. knights) can jump over it. If your queen is captured, the wall is destroyed and no longer functions.

Armenia
You have the power of religion. Armenia was the first kingdom to use Christianity to its advantage.
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Your patriarch [image: image1.png]


, which is your royal piece, can move like a king, like a bishop, and can also jump two squares diagonally, but cannot capture.
Whenever one of your pieces is within two squares of the patriarch, it can move twice in one turn, but may not capture if it does so.
Ayyubid Empire (Saladin’s Empire) [John Fritzen]
You have the power of chivalry. The legends surrounding your generosity attract soldiers from near and far.
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At the end of your turn, for every piece that you could have captured, but didn’t, you get one point.

At the end of your turn, you may pay four points for one of the following:

· Choose any player. That player may not capture any of your pieces until the start of your next turn.

· Choose a piece you control. That piece may not be captured until the start of your next turn.
If you used a piece to capture that turn, that piece may not be protected in this manner.

Aztecs [Joe Richman]
You have the power of warrior societies. The Aztec warriors were able to change societies with little training.
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On your turn, instead of moving you may change of your knights into a rook, or vice versa.

Balkan States [Neil Shah]
You have the power of assassination. The countries of the Balkan region have constant conflict, and one of the highest assassination rates in the world. 
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At the start of your turn, if you have at least three pieces in play, you may target any enemy piece in your 4x4 square and roll a six-sided die:
1. You misfire. If any of your pieces is horizontally or vertically adjacent to the target, it is destroyed. (If several of your pieces are adjacent, you choose which piece is destroyed.) Otherwise, nothing happens.
2. If the target is a pawn or knight, it is destroyed.

3. If the target is a pawn, knight, or bishop, it is destroyed.

4. If the target is a pawn, knight, bishop, or rook, it is destroyed.

5. If the target is any non-royal piece (including special pieces), it is destroyed.

6. The target piece is automatically destroyed. If it was a royal piece, you checkmated its owner.

Belgium [Solomon Mindlin]
You have the power of treaty. When you are attacked, other countries rush to your aid. 
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Whenever a player (ex: Player A) captures one of your pieces, you may choose another player (ex: Player B). On Player B’s next turn, Player B must capture a piece belonging to Player A, if able.
Crete [Joe Richman]
You have the power of the maze. You can trap your enemies in an inescapable labyrinth. 
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Whenever an opposing player’s piece’s move lands in the 4x4 center square, that player rolls a six-sided die:

1. If the piece was already inside the center square, it doesn’t move. If the piece was outside of the center square at the start of its turn, it moves normally.
2. The piece moves vertically. Roll another die: on a 1-3 the piece moves towards the Crete player’s starting area, on a 4-6 away from starting area.

3. The piece moves diagonally to the left of the Crete player’s starting area. Roll another die: on a 1-3 the piece moves towards the Crete player’s starting area, on a 4-6 away from starting area.
4. The piece moves diagonally to the right of the Crete player’s starting area. Roll another die: on a 1-3 the piece moves towards the Crete player’s starting area, on a 4-6 away from starting area.

5. The piece moves horizontally. Roll another die: on a 1-3 the piece moves towards the Crete player’s starting area, on a 4-6 away from starting area.

6. The piece moves normally.

(Note: If the player rolled a 2, 3, 4, 5: If the piece was outside of the center square at the start of its turn, it moves normally and then moves by the Cretan rules; if the piece was already inside the center square, it does not move normally, but by the Cretan rules.)

If the player rolled a 2, 3, 4, or 5 on the first roll, roll yet another die after you determined the direction, to determine the number of spaces moved: 1-2: 1 square, 3-4: 2 squares, 5-6: 3 squares.
If the player’s piece is moved into another piece (even if it is his own) as a result of this, that piece is captured.

The Crete player is immune to his own power and thus does not have to roll when moving through the 4x4 center area.

Gupta Empire [Michael Fienberg]
You have the power of archers.  The Guptans have powerful archers that can take out pieces from far away.
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 The archer [image: image2.png]


 moves and captures like a king, but can only capture royal pieces.  Instead of moving on a turn, you may instead choose to attempt to destroy a piece with an archer.  First, select a piece that you are attempting to destroy. Next, roll a 6-sided die.  Whatever number comes up is the maximum number of spaces the piece you are attempting to destroy can be away for the attempt to succeed. However, rolling a 1 is an automatic failure. Archers may not shoot over pieces and amount of squares away is counted horizontally and vertically, not diagonally.
Incan Empire [Michael Fienberg]
You have the power of manipulation.  Your army starts small, but you can recruit other people into your army.
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Incan delegates [image: image3.png]


 can move like kings but can also jump 2 squares horizontally or vertically. Every time a delegate starts a turn within one square (horizontally or vertically) of an enemy piece, that enemy piece joins the Incan army.
India [Neil Shah]
You have the power of cows.  Cows are sacred creatures under Hindu tradition.
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Indian knights can, in addition to moving like regular knights, instead jump two squares horizontally or vertically. However, if you lose all your knights (“cows”) you lose the game.

Iran [Jacob Nisnevich]
You have the power of the bomb.  Your army is small, but, if left unchecked, you have the capability to develop nuclear weapons.
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Once every five turns (starting on your fifth turn), you can choose to remove any rook, bishop, knight, or pawn from the game.
Mordor [Julien Dellapuppa]
You have the power of numbers.  Your armies are so massive that you can retrieve lost units with ease.
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Your knight is your royal piece.

Instead of moving, you may choose to place a pawn in your 2x4 starting area. However, you may only do this if you have less than five pawns under your control.

Ministry of Truth [Alex Nisnevich]
You have the power of history. History is in the hands of those who rewrite it.
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You start the game with two points. Whenever you capture a piece, you gain one point.
At the start of any opponent’s turn, you may pay one point to take back your last move. You may pay one additional point to immediately make a move, interrupting the current player’s turn. If a move is taken back, so are all of its effects (i.e. captured pieces are brought back into the game), and after the interruption, play resumes normally.
Mycenae [Alex Nisnevich]
You have the power of the Trojan horse.  Your soldiers are hidden inside giant wooden horses, from which you can catch the enemy off guard.
[image: image20.png]



Mycenaean knights may not capture, but may carry other pieces. Mycenaean pawns can move like kings.
At the start of the game, you have an army of one king, one rook, two bishops, and three pawns, who are inside the knights. Write down which pieces are inside which knight; you do not have to reveal this information.

On your turn, instead of moving, you can load or unload up to two pieces to or from a knight. Loaded or unloaded pieces must be horizontally or vertically adjacent to the knight. You may load another player’s pieces into a knight only with his/her permission, and he/she may only unload pieces from a knight on his/her turn. 

Instead of moving, loading, or unloading, you may choose to burn a knight – the knight, all pieces inside it, and all pieces horizontally or vertically adjacent to it are destroyed.
If one of your knights is ever captured or if another player takes control of one of your knights, all pieces inside of it are automatically destroyed. If your king was inside it, you are automatically checkmated.
Pala Empire [Michael Fienberg]
You have the power of specialized troops.  The Palans have unique pieces with special abilities.  
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The cavalry [image: image4.png]


 moves like a knight and a king, but can only capture diagonally or as a knight.  The chariot [image: image5.png]


 moves like a bishop, but can also jump two squares diagonally.  The elephant [image: image6.png]


 can move up to 3 squares horizontally or vertically, and can only be captured by a piece no more than two squares away.
Spacefleet [Alex Nisnevich]
You have the power of missiles.  With sophisticated weaponry, you can hit enemies from far away.
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Your pieces are all different from regular chess pieces, with different names (however, if you gain control of another player’s piece, the piece becomes transformed into whatever its Spacefleet equivalent is, and if another player gains control of your piece, the piece changes back to a normal chess piece).

On your turn, after moving, you may do one of the following: deploy missiles (from a mothership), pick up a missile (with a gunship), or fire a missile (from a mothership).

You king is a mothership. It is royal and moves like a standard chess king. If there are no unfired missiles (pawns) in play, you may deploy four missiles by placing one adjacent to the king, and placing the rest in a line (vertical, horizontal, or diagonal) away from the first; if the line is obstructed, then less than four missiles will be deployed.

Your knight, rook, and bishop are gunships. They all move and capture like kings, and may also pick up and fire missiles (pawns). When a missile is “picked up”, either a gunship moves into a adjacent missile’s square, or a missile moves into an adjacent gunship’s square; either way, the gunship and missile are stacked together in one square, and when one moves, the other moves with it. A gunship may only hold one missile at a time.
Your pawns are missiles. There are two kinds of missiles: fired and unfired. Unfired missiles may not move, unless it is to be loaded into an adjacent gunship. If an unfired missile is captured, it explodes, destroying the piece that captured it, as well as all pieces horizontally and vertically adjacent to it (however, any missiles destroyed in the explosion do not explode themselves)
Fired missiles move in a trajectory determined by the piece that fired them. Missiles fired by a rook gunship move horizontally or vertically, while missiles fired by a bishop gunship move diagonally; both types of missiles move at the start of every player’s turn except for yours (three times between your turns). 
Missiles fired by a knight are homing missiles: they first move like a knight move, and from then on, each time they move they move one square horizontally towards the nearest piece (if there are several directions they can go, you pick); homing missiles move at the start of your turn and at the start of the turn of the player across from you (two times between your turns.)
Whatever the case, fired missiles are immune to any country’s special effect, and pass through any obstacles, other than the edge of the board. When a fired missile hits a non-royal piece, both the missile and the piece are immediately destroyed (if it hits a royal piece, the missile is destroyed, but nothing else happens).
The Allied Army (World War I) [John Fritzen]
You have the power of trenches.  If your troops can reach the enemy trench on the 6th row then you can win. 
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Whenever an Allied pawn reaches the 6th row, it promotes to a queen, knight, rook or bishop.  You may only have one queen in play at a time.
The Maya [John Fritzen]
You have the power of technology.  Though starting at a low technological age the Maya ended up with very advanced technology
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At the start of each turn you get an age token.  On your turn, instead of moving, you can use tokens to upgrade any piece other than your original king (which is your only royal piece).

 

You can combine powers (i.e. bishop + rook = queen).  Once you upgrade a pawn it cannot move or act like a pawn and is no longer considered to be a pawn.
· 2 tokens – king (non-royal), knight, or bishop
· 3 tokens – rook
· 6 tokens – any piece on the board
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Starting configuration for Mordor
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Starting configuration for the Spacefleet
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Starting configuration for the Pala Empire
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Starting configuration for Iran
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Starting configuration for the Maya
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Starting configuration for the Allied Army
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Starting configuration for Mycenae
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Starting configuration for the Gupta Empire
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Starting configuration for the Ayyubid Empire
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Starting configuration for the Aztecs
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Starting configuration for Belgium
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Starting configuration for the Ministry of Truth
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Starting configuration for the Incas
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Starting configuration for India
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Starting configuration for Crete
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Starting configuration for the Balkan States
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Starting configuration for Ancient China (with wall shown)
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Starting configuration for Armenia








